Skip to content
June 9, 2010 / howardmestas

THE BRIDGE TO UNDERSTANDING HISTORY

 
THE GREAT BRIDGE!

What an awesome day!  Finally I can say I walked across the Great Bridge! 

After reading David McCullough’s book and learning of the monumental challenges of connecting the first and third largest cities in America, it was a surreal moment to finally be there.  As if the moment could possibly be better, the weather conditions were perfect with clear skies and a cooling breeze.  Our guide Ed O’Donnell was once again a walking encyclopedia of facts and details and was incredibly tolerant of my countless questions.  One of the many revealing details he pointed out was the location of where Washington Roebling was confined from illness for eleven years and where his devoted wife relayed the instructions for each day.  You can read it in a book or watch it on TV, but when you stand on the bridge and see it for yourself your perspective finally makes sense.  I plan to use the example of Emily Roebling to enable my students to understand how unappreciated her contributions were only because of her gender.  It wasn’t until decades later that our testosterone laden society finally began to accept her contributions.  The views of the Statue of Liberty were exceptional and seeing its location in the harbor from the bridge also added incredible perspective.  The experience of this day on the bridge will be one that I will never forget; one of the highlights of my life. 

The middle part of our day was not so happy, but was a great reality check as we visited the Museum of the slave graveyard.  The video made me very sad for so many who had the joy of life stolen away from them.  It is incredible to think of how far we have come with the Governor of New York, the President of the United States, and a former mayor of the city all being descendants of slaves. 

Finally, we took our walking tour of Central Park, the place I always wanted to see ever since I was hooked on the television series “Friends” in the nineties.  I had taken a couple of short excursions in previous days on the trip, but today was the total experience.  Since I am a bird watcher and a dog lover, the park was extra special.  One of the things O’Donnell said that shocked me was that every single tree in the park was planted and nothing but the giant rocks was original.  I guess that’s why Central Park is called the greatest piece of art in New York City. 

Lady Liberty from the Great Bridge

 

LILY IN THE PARK

 

SLACKER TURTLE

 

ED, WHO IS NOT A SLACKER

 

PRETTY FLOWERS IN THE PARK

 

AN AMAZING OWL AND HIS FRIEND

 

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Marie / Jun 10 2010 1:28 am

    Your pictures are magnificent. You certainly have a gift for photography. Please keep sharing your beautiful artwork!!

    • howardmestas / Jun 13 2010 2:51 am

      Thanks Marie, some of them I am very happy with, but it’s kind of hard to take a bad picture in Central Park. I like to make slide shows for my students. Is this a great trip or what? Do you make powerpoints for your kids? Do you use promethean boards at your school?

  2. marksims / Jun 9 2010 12:17 pm

    I was with you and saw you take many pictures of Central Park, and I am sure you will use them with your students. I like the interesting pictures you chose to represent your blog post.

Leave a Reply

